Happy Birthday, Da!

Black History is also my parent’s history.

Today is my dad’s birthday and I wanted to honour him by showcasing a few of his favourite songs.

Outside in a summertime breeze, sitting around a few cars or up on the front porch with a drink or two and eating sizzlin’ bbq – these are the memories I hold surrounding these songs.

Because of my strong stereotype threat, though I wasn’t ready to fully listen and appreciate the music from my parents. In my hindsight, I will have to remember the music that I would pass down to my own children (should I have them) and wonder if they would keep it all at bay or embrace it.

fb_img_1434497560744

Hard Times by David Fat Head Newman and Ray Charles

There were other songs he listed when talking about David “Fat Head” Newman, but I wanted to showcase this one.

Respect – Aretha Franklin

Arguably, these are all his favourites, though he recently mentioned her when I asked what he’s been listening to.

My Girl – The Temptations (original recording, 1964)

Everytime I go visit my parents, this movie about The Temptations is sure to be playing on the television at least 5 times. No joke. He could recite the entire movie. Backward.

Sanford & Sons Theme – by Quincy Jones (The Streetbeater)

I added this theme song since this show is on the TV at least several times a day and every episode is recorded on the DVR.

Dance With My Father Again – Luther Vandross

This is a special one for both of my parents, though, having lost his dad it really means something to my own. Also, can hardly get better than Luther.

Sugar Pie (Honey Bunch) – The Four Tops

This is a fun one that I’ve always enjoyed by The Four Tops. My dad and I can agree that Motown is where it’s at!

Ain’t No Mountain High Enough – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell

I know that he likes Marvin Gaye, so why not? It’s also a classic hit.

I love music, so I want to ask those reading or just passing through – what’s something you’ve been listening to lately? Leave a comment below! 🙂 

I hope that everyone has enjoyed my Black History Series, although short-lived on the shortest month of the year, but perhaps you’ve walked away having learned something new.
Cheers & ta! 🙂

Leave a Reply

