Poetry Corner: Puzzle Of The Poet

Disclaimer: language, discretion, blah blah blah

This poem is based upon real events, at least real to me, haha! Enjoy, I hope ❤ 🙂


I was selfish, so I took your words.

Having learned a name – do you still feel the same?

Or maybe it was an illusion – that hurts.

No poetic structure really justified the rupture of tiny little nerves,

Which shot through to serve up a plate full of timid eyes and bashful smiles.

 

If you’d stop making the eyes at me,
I’ll stop making the eyes at you.
What it is that surprises me is that I don’t really want you to.

I Bet That You Look Good On The Dancefloor, Arctic Monkeys

 

And when my earphones are in and the music is off

I can hear my heartbeat drumming, like it’s not enough

There’s another stolen glance and what the fuck’s with that look?

Luckily, I could try to hide a flustered smile behind a book.

Writing poetry for no one is never quite fun.

But aren’t these muses of yours someone?

Not a fairy tale, a made-up phantom?

I am a practiced escapist, professional dreamer, full-time airy fairy.

Through a realm of despair and existentialism mixed with fleeting bits of romance, you know, the universe pitched in and I stole a chance to break the cycle of silence and scream with written words and cautious glance – I hope I hadn’t spoiled my chances on overrated coffee shop romances – again.

I’m terribly shy so honestly, there’s a miracle aligner at play on this fine Palm Sunday so I could summon up the strength to say, “Hey, do you write poetry?”

Not too kind is what you’d said to us, but doesn’t ‘puzzle of the poet’ sound just a bit pretentious?

Leave a Reply

