Poetry Corner: I Had To Learn

I had to learn to stand tall.

To not succumb to the sadness.

I had to learn to not feel small.

Like my worth never mattered.

I had to learn to speak up.

Even if my voice shakes, telling the truth.

I had to learn not to give up.

Even if my heart, tired, from the abuse.

I had to learn to pick myself up.

I had to learn to let myself grow.

I had to learn to learn how to smile.

I had to learn to learn how to know.

I had to learn to feel the earth between my toes.

I had to learn to see my worth through the woes.

I had to learn that I was good.

I was grand.

I was everything and nothing can stop me from loving and giving a damn.

I had to learn.


Ta! 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

