22 British Bands That Changed My Life

The times are changing… and so am I.

Hiya, everyone! I know, I know… it’s been a day and an age since I’ve last written a post and for that I am quite apologetic! I hope not to be away from writing here too long, since I have other things up my sleeves, I assure you. 😉

But today, in celebration of everything I’ve come to expect, I wanted to share with you 22 British bands that have inexplicably changed my life.

You may be asking yourself, why is she being so dramatic? How can a band just change your life? *eye roll*

Allow me to explain myself…

Once upon a time, I was a kid on the cusp of something greater – adolescence. I had just began a new school year with all of the “older kids” and well, I didn’t exactly fit into their Abercrombie & Fitch, Dooney & Burke, ‘You Can’t Sit With Us’ way of life. There were people who teasingly made fun of the fact that my friends and I listened to the Beatles. (ha!) Obviously, my small cohort and I had to carve another way to live and what better way to spend this awkward time than listening to three songs on repeat for five consecutive months? Three songs that only you and your best friend can really rock out to. I mean, at least I had her, right?

In short, the years of 2005 – 2006 were tantamount to who I am today, musically, artistically, sarcastically, ironically, aesthetically, romantically… all of it.

Today, I still find myself listening to these tunes (on repeat, no less) and absolutely jamming out. Now, without further ado… behold my 13/14 year old magic! *sparkle, sparkle*

Behold the Spotify playlist below & to really capture the magic, turn up the volume real loud! 😀

 

I Bet That You Look Good On The Dancefloor – Arctic Monkeys

Do You Want To? – Franz Ferdinand

Black Horse and the Cherry Tree – KT Tunstall

Speed of Sound – Coldplay

Raoul – Automatic Automatic (The Automatic)

Feel Good Inc. – Gorillaz

Banquet – Bloc Party

Somewhere Only We Know – Keane

The Importance of Being Idle – Oasis

Nine Million Bicycles – Katie Melua

Smile – Lily Allen

Monster – Automatic Automatic (The Automatic)

Suddenly I See – KT Tunstall

Chelsea Dagger – The Fratellis

Put Your Records On – Corinne Bailey Rae

Chasing Cars – Snow Patrol

I Predict A Riot – Kaiser Chiefs

Naive – The Kooks

When The Sun Goes Down – Arctic Monkeys

Bang, Bang You’re Dead – Dirty Pretty Things

I Wish I Was A Punk Rocker (With Flowers in My Hair) – Sandi Thom

America – Razorlight

 

 

Cheers for reading… and listening! 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

