Accent Challenges & Moving Abroad 2017

Hiya, everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m back again with an update.

My linguistically inclined friends (Ashleigh [left] & Christine [right]) and I made a video back in May.

After researching here and there about dialects online for a short-story, I came across dozens of these “accent challenge” videos and decided to have a go at it too.

This challenge has been reproduced thousands of times across multiple social media platforms like, Twitter, YouTube and Tumblr. An early forum I found was back in 2011, so the challenge has been around for some time. People are then tagged to make their own or simply come across other videos and are inspired – like I was.

Now, before you get through the video, I wanted to make a little announcement, as well. Since I sort of drop the news in the video, anyway, I wanted to make it a bit more official.

As serendipitous chance would have it, I stumbled upon an opportunity that I knew I just couldn’t pass up. It all came to be from my research into English dialects for a story I am writing. I decided one character would be a lad from Newcastle, a Geordie, and since I had never come across this way of speaking before, I decided to dig a bit deeper.

newcastle-university

Newcastle upon Tyne

 

This lead me to searching about the city, then the university there, and then the master’s programs and suddenly one thing lead to another – as they say. Finally, after a month’s worth of near frantic application submissions through Across the Pond, an educational agency to help students study in the UK, I applied to four universities in England: Newcastle, East Anglia, Sheffield and (unofficially) Leeds. Within a week of applying, I was offered a position to all three. I was absolutely buzzin’, I tell you.

masthead-homepage

Newcastle University

After nearly two and a half years of working at my alma mater, I knew that I wanted to continue my education and explore more of the world and other cultures. England would be my gateway. Weeks passed and I came to the conclusion of which offer to take after lots of introspection, prayer and support from friends and family.

As of late spring, I have been offered and accepted a place in the Master’s program at Newcastle University to study Cross-Cultural Communication and Applied Linguistics. After my visa is approved (God-willing) and I have the flight booked, I will be on my way to the northeast of England in September! I am properly excited about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_0857

Hanging out at West Oak Coffee Bar

I love learning about linguistics, dialects and accents so I will post more about those sort of topics in later posts. Also, if you would like to learn how you also can study in England, let me know and I will post about that process as well.

If you feel inspired or challenged, please accept this invitation to do the accent challenge yourself, with your friends or family. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ta-ra and cheers for reading. ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

